Leal cops Malta Supreme feature 35-lap event

first_imgTEAM Evolution’s cyclist Raul Leal clocked one hour, 19 minutes and 36.40 seconds in winning the feature 35-lap race of the Banks DIH Limited sponsored 11-race cycle programme in the National Park yesterday.The event, which was organised by cycle coach Hassan Mohammed in collaboration with Banks DIH Limited for the fourth year, saw Leal breaking away with Paul DeNobrega, Raphael Leung, Mark Harris and Andrew Green, after the completion of 18 laps and were never caught by the chasing pack which included Michael Anthony, Paul Cho-Wee-Nam, Jevon Crawford, Shaquille Agard, Andrew Hicks and Junior Niles.However, three laps after breaking with the front runners, Green was left behind by the other four cyclists and struggled in the end,to finish in fifth position.With three laps remaining, Leal led the other three front- runners,and with about 125 metres left from the finish,Leung started the sprint but was outgunned by Leal, who maneuvered on the outside to overcome him (Leung) and romped home the winner.DeNobrega,who responded to Leal’s attack,placed second while Leung had to settle for third.Mark Harris placed fourth, Green fifth and Junior Niles sixth.Leal also won three of the prime prizes that were up for grabs, while Harris, Raymond Newton, Hicks and Anthony won one prime each.Earlier in the day, Hicks clocked 22 minutes 44.49 seconds in winning the 10-lap race for juniors and juveniles, ahead of Leung and Deoraj Garbarran respectively.In other results from the day’s programme, Newton won the veterans’ five-lap race ahead of Kennard Lovell and Linden Blackman respectively, while in the five-lap race for veterans under 50 years of age, Niles won in a time of 11 minutes 42 seconds. Second was jaikarran Sookhai,while Marc Sonoram placed third.Nicholas Alphonso won the five-lap race for mountain bikers ahead of Shane Bourne and Seon Budhan respectively.Alexander Leung was first in the BMX two-lap race for boys 6-9 years old. Second was John Niles and finishing third was Tared Barrington.Sherwin Sampson continued his dominance of the BMX boys’ 9-12 and 12-14 three-lap BMX races. In the former, he won ahead of Zab James and Shane Sue-Hang respectively, while in the latter event,he won ahead Taran Garbarran.In the BMX boys and Girls 12-14 three-lap race, Adelais Hodge won the event in seven minutes 50.22 seconds. Second was Ronaldo Narine and finishing third was Jerome Stephens.The presentation of prizes to the respective winners was done by Banks DIH Outdoor manager Mortimer Stewart, who, before making the presentation, thanked the cyclists for their participation and reminded that his company is committed to the development of sports locally.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *